# **Article 2 - Members of the Council**

# 2.1 Composition and eligibility

The Council comprises 40 members, called councillors. Councillors are elected by the voters of each district electoral area in accordance with a scheme drawn up by the Electoral Office of Northern Ireland. Where an individual ceases to be a councillor, whether by resignation or through other circumstances, the vacancy on the Council will be filled by the co-option of an individual nominated by the political party in whose name the previous individual stood, at the last local general election.

Only registered voters of the district or those living or working there will be eligible to stand for election and hold the office of councillor.

A total of 40 councillors were elected in May 2023 to the seven District Electoral Areas (DEAs) which make up the Ards and North Down Borough Council. They are:

# Ards Peninsula (6 councillors)

Robert Adair, DUP Lorna McAlpine, Alliance Joe Boyle, SDLP Nigel Edmund, DUP David Kerr, DUP Pete Wray, UUP

## **Bangor Central (6 councillors)**

Wesley Irvine, Independent Alistair Cathcart, DUP Craig Blaney, UUP Chris McCracken, Alliance Ray McKimm, Independent Alex Harbinson, Alliance

## **Bangor East and Donaghadee (6 councillors)**

Mark Brooks, UUP Hannah Irwin, Alliance James Cochrane, DUP David Chambers, UUP Gillian McCollum, Alliance Eddie Thompson, DUP

## **Bangor West (5 councillors)**

Christine Creigton, Alliance Jennifer Gilmour, DUP Stephen Hollywood, UUP

# **Article 2 - Members of the Council**

Peter Martin, DUP Barry McKee, Green Party

# Comber (5 councillors)

Libby Douglas, DUP Philip Smith, UUP Trevor Cummings, DUP Patrica Morgan, Alliance Rachel Ashe, Alliance

# Holywood and Clandeboye (5 councillors)

Alan Graham, DUP Linzi McLaren, UUP Martin McRandal, Alliance David Rossiter, Alliance Lauren Kendall, Green Party

# Newtownards (7 councillors)

Steven Irvine, Independent Naomi Armstrong-Cotter, DUP Richard Smart, UUP Alan McDowell, Alliance Party Stephen McIlveen, DUP Vicky Moore, Alliance Colin Kennedy, DUP

## 2.2 Election and terms of Councillors and Aldermen

The regular election of councillors and aldermen will be held in May every four years. The next local government election is scheduled to be held in 2027. The term of office of councillors and aldermen will start on the fourth day after being elected and will finish on the fourth day after the date of the next regular election.

#### 2.3 Roles and duties of all Councillors

#### Key roles

- (a) All councillors will have the following key roles:
  - (i) Councillors will collectively make policy and decisions including striking the district rate and be the ultimate policy-makers and carry out a number of strategic and corporate management functions.
  - (ii) Councillors will represent their communities and bring their views into the Council's decision-making process.

# **Article 2 - Members of the Council**

- (iii) Councillors will deal with individual issues and act as an advocate for constituents in resolving particular concerns or grievances.
- (iv) Councillors will balance different interests identified within the district electoral area and represent that area as a whole.
- (v) Councillors will be available to represent the Council on other bodies.
- (vi) Councillors will maintain the highest standards of conduct and ethics.

#### Rights and duties

- (b) All Councillors will have the following rights and duties.
  - (i) Councillors will have such rights of access to such documents, information, land and buildings of the Council as are necessary for the proper discharge of their functions and in accordance with the law.
  - (ii) Councillors will not make public, information which is confidential or exempt (as defined in the Access to Information Rules in Part 3 of this Constitution), without the consent of the Council or divulge information given in confidence to anyone other than a Councillor or officer entitled to know it.

#### 2.4 Conduct

Councillors' will at all times adopt high standards of conduct in order to give expression to the Northern Ireland Local Government Code of Conduct for Councillors, issued under section 53 of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014.

#### 2.5 Allowances

Councillors will be entitled to receive allowances in accordance with the Members Allowances Scheme set out in Part 5 of this Constitution.